IPL- DLF Indian Premier League Cricket Competition

Indian Premier League is also known as DLF Indian Premier League. In short it is called IPL. It is a Twenty20 cricket competition created by the Board of cricket Controller Of India (BCCI) and its Chairman and Commissioner is Mr. Lalit Modi, Vice President of BCCI. The first cricket competition was held in 2008 in which Rajasthan Royals team won the final T20 match. The second season will start on 10th April 2009.

Since Twenty20 cricket match of IPL is a 20 overrs knockout format game so it has become very popular in India as well as abroad. The eight teams having players from different cricket teams of the world and all have them has been selected through auction.

The franchise and their owners are as follows:-

Mumbai Indians- Mukesh Ambani (Reliance Inustries)
Royal Challengers Bangalore- Vijay Mallya (UB Group)
Hyderabad Deccan Chargers- Deccan Chargers Sporting Ventures
Chennai Super Kings- India Cements (N Srinivasan)
Delhi Daredevils- GMR Holdings (Grandhi Mallikarjuna Rao)
Kings Xl Punjab- Ness Wadia (Bombay Dyeing), Preity Zinta, Mohit
Burman (Dabur) and Karan Paul ( Apeejay Surendra Group)
Kolkata Knight Riders- Red Chillies Entertainment (Shahrukh Khan, Juhi Chawla, J Mehta)
Rajasthan Royals- Emerging Media (Lachlan Murdoch, A R Jha, & Suresh
Chellaram) Shilpa Shetty, Raj Kundra

Interesting Fact- Indian Government earned Rs. 91 crore as tax revenue from the first season of IPL in 2008

No comments: